Founders, Board & Team

Meet The ReadyCT Team

Click Here


Roots are important. It is from our roots that we can grow.

That’s why we remain incredibly grateful to the committed men and women who brought our organization to life.

A brief history

In 2010, Gov. M. Jodi Rell commissioned a task force to examine the achievement gap — the difference in academic performance between Connecticut’s low-income and non low-income students. At the time, Connecticut had one of the worst achievement gaps in the country, largely because our low-income students were performing in the bottom third of the nation.

That task force was led by Steven J. Simmons, who went on to chair the ReadyCT Board of Directors which today includes four other original task force members. When the task force submitted its 2011 report, the members deemed their findings so valuable that they formed a nonprofit — the Connecticut Council for Education Reform, now known as ReadyCT — to pursue the policies it recommended.

Download the 2011 Task Force Report

Founders & Board Members

Since the beginning, our founders and board members have steered us toward success. ReadyCT has been involved in nearly 80 separate legislative efforts to improve education in Connecticut, with over half of them reaching implementation! This happened because of the dedicated individuals who have worked tirelessly to ensure opportunity reaches all Connecticut public school students. These men and women are:

2020 Board of Directors

Joe Voelker – Chairman

Senior Vice President/Chief Human Resources Officer, Stanley Black & Decker

Jeff Auker – Vice Chairman

Associate Vice President – Head of Innovation and Delivery, Infosys (Hartford Hub)

Mark Scheinberg – Secretary & Treasurer

President, Goodwin College

Ramani Ayer*

Chairman/Chief Executive Officer (ret.), The Hartford

Joseph F. Brennan

President/Chief Executive Officer, Connecticut Business and Industry Association (CBIA)

Roxanne Coady*

Owner, R.J. Julia Booksellers

William W. Ginsberg*

President/Chief Executive Officer, The Community Foundation for Greater New Haven

Jeffrey A. Klaus

Regional President (Connecticut), Webster Bank

Marinka Natale

CEO & Founder, HealthLynxIQ 

Chris O’Connor

Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, Yale New Haven Health 

Fran Rabinowitz

President, Connecticut Association of Public School Superintendents (CAPSS)

Beth Regan

Mohegan Council of Elders at Mohegan Tribe

Alan Schnitzer

Chairman/Chief Executive Officer, Travelers

Rick Sharma

Chief Legal Counsel, Bridgewater Associates

Steven J. Simmons *

Chairman, Patriot Media & Communications

Dudley N. Williams, Jr.*

Senior Vice President (ret.), Corporate Citizenship and Diversity, GE Asset Management



Steven J. Simmons*

Ramani Ayer*

David E. A. Carson

Roxanne Coady*

William W. Ginsberg*

Carla Klein

Yvette Melendez

Peyton Patterson

Steve Preston

John R. Rathgeber

Dudley N. Williams, Jr.*

*current Board of Directors member

  • The Team

    Today, our team possesses a range of talent developed and honed across various sectors. Click on the links, right, to learn more about our team members, their experience, and what drives them to advance academic excellence and career-connected learning for Connecticut public school students!

  • Shannon Marimón

    Executive Director

  • Sheryl S. McNamee

    Director of Public Affairs

  • Betsy Caraballo

    Internship Coordinator

  • Gloria Ortiz-Rivera

    Work-Based Learning Program Manager

  • Susan Auchincloss

    Director of STEM Initiatives

Creating a ready Connecticut is our passion, and maybe it is yours, too.

Please know we welcome your input!
Reach out to speak with us about the work!