CONTACT: Nicki Perkins
PHONE: 203-506-5799

New Haven, Connecticut – Today, Friday, April 17, 2015, Governor Malloy announced that Dianna Roberge-Wentzell will become Connecticut’s permanent Commissioner of Education. Since the departure of Stefan Pryor, Dr. Wentzell has been serving as Interim Commissioner of Education for the state. In response to this announcement, Jeffrey Villar, Executive Director of the Connecticut Council for Education Reform (CCER), made the following statement:

“Dr. Wentzell has proven herself to be capable of filling this role due to her depth of knowledge, high level of skill, and relationships with district leaders and other stakeholders. We know that she is committed to Connecticut’s children, understands that every child can learn, and believes that all Connecticut students deserve an excellent education–without exception.

“We look forward to working closely with Dr. Wentzell and her team to narrow the achievement gap in Connecticut.”


About the Connecticut Council for Education Reform

The Connecticut Council for Education Reform (CCER)–a statewide, non-partisan, 501(c)(3) not- for-profit organization–works to close the achievement gap and raise academic outcomes for all students in Connecticut. The achievement gap is the disparity in academic achievement between children from low-income families and children of color, and their peers. We advocate for state policies and local practices that research shows have the best chance of raising achievement for high-need student populations.

For more information on CCER, go to